Gaming news and opinion.

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Wii gets Netflix

The Nintendo Wii is getting Netflix's streaming service, which is already available on competing game consoles.
Streaming from the online move-rental service will go live on Nintendo's console this spring, according to a joint announcement. As with the competing consoles, the service will be available at no additional cost for Netflix subscribers with unlimited plans, which start at $8.99 per month.
Like with the Sony PlayStation 3, which added Netflix streaming last fall, Nintendo Wii owners will need a free, instant-streaming disc from Netflix to access content. Using the disc may be annoying to some people since they must pop it into their Wii drive to access Netflix's stream.
Microsoft's Xbox 360, the first console to get Netflix, requires no extra disc. However, Microsoft does require an Xbox Live gold membership, which costs $50 a year, to access the Netflix service.

Sunday, January 10, 2010

G1 Gets Eclair Update in 2010

It has been confirmed that T-Mobile is releasing an Eclair update for the T-Mobile G1. The update will be at least Android 2.0 but more likely Android 2.0.1 as both versions have already been prepared as OTA updates. Both the Android 2.0 and the Android 2.0.1 are in

OTA update for Eclair 2.0 or 2.01. Earlier this year, the community stated that the first gen phone would not be getting anything past Donut 1.6 because the G1 could not handle 2.0. The problem with the phone is that the system partition is only about 70MB, which is 99% used up with 1.5 and 1.6. The modding community has some experimental releases out now for the G1 and other early devices, but will soon have native G1 Eclair source code.

Monday, January 4, 2010

Modern Warfare 2 Prestige Unlocks

I know a lot of you legit gamers out there might be near or at level 70 with out using exploits or hacks. You are the ones the prestige system was created for. To help make up your mind, I took the liberty of digging up information about how it works and what you get.

When you prestige you get the following:

-Extra Class Slot

-Ability to receive new emblems/new titles

-Each challenge section has new challenges

-Brand new challenge section

If you enable prestige mode, you will lose all of your weapons and perks and essentially work your way back up through the levels. The advantage to prestige mode is it demonstrates to other players how far you have come as you earn prestige icons/emblems.

If you are sure you want to enter prestige mode, select yes to both prompts that appear (the second one reminds you there is no turning back).

After accepting, you are now in prestige mode and can work your way back up to level 70.

Once the player enters Prestige Mode for the first time in Modern Warfare 2, they will be rewarded with a sixth custom class slot. The same occurs at every odd prestige level, so a total of five additional custom class slots can be unlocked by Prestige Level 9. In addition, the in-game Intel hint system states that any earned titles and emblems obtained before entering Prestige Mode are not lost.

If a player enters Prestige Mode in Modern Warfare 2, all unlocked weapons, killstreaks, perks and challenges will be reset. The challenges unlocked through Prestige for each gun, however, persist to the next Prestige level (the kills and headshots for each gun's Mastery and Veteran challenges do not reset). This exception also applies to the challenges in the Prestige category that deal with killstreaks (getting a certain number of kills with a specific killstreak reward). Titles, emblems, and accolades are also unaffected.

* Prestige 1: Extra Custom Class Slot (6 Total), New Emblem, New Title, "Prestige" Tier of Challenges, including Veteran and Mastery challenges for each weapon

* Prestige 2: New Emblem, New Title

* Prestige 3: Extra Custom Class Slot (7 Total), New Emblem, New Title

* Prestige 4: New Emblem, New Title

* Prestige 5: Extra Custom Class Slot (8 Total), New Emblem, New Title

* Prestige 6: New Emblem, New Title

* Prestige 7: Extra Custom Class Slot (9 Total), New Emblem, New Title

* Prestige 8: New Emblem, New Title

* Prestige 9: Extra Custom Class Slot (10 Total), New Emblem, New Title

* Prestige 10: New Emblem, New Title